The filing date for City of Waldron municipal offices ended at noon on Friday, August 17th. The following is a list of candidates for City of Waldron municipal offices that will be placed on the November ballot: Mayor: William (David) Millard, Lanis Harwell. City Clerk/Treasurer: Sherry Johnston. Hickman Ward 1 Position 1: Eddie Hutchens. Hickman Ward 1 Position 2: Gary Nelson. Hickman Ward 2 Position 1: Dave Tull. Hickman Ward 2 Position 2: Dawna Young. Hickman Ward 3 Position 1: June Haas. Hickman Ward 3 Position 2: Doyle Dickens, Paige Cupit.

To be eligible as a candidate, a person must be a qualified elector at least 18 years of age, a U. S. citizen, an Arkansas resident, and living in the jurisdiction to be represented at the time of filing and throughout the term of office.  

The candidate must be lawfully registered to vote and have never been convicted of embezzlement of public money, bribery, forgery, or other infamous crimes. 

In addition, aldermen must be a resident of the respective ward in which the person is seeking election.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.