School Board Recognition

Waldron School District joins districts across the state of Arkansas to celebrate School Board Members Recognition Month in January.  More than 1500 Arkansas school board members are being honored for their service and dedication to public education. Thank you to all of the Waldron school board members for their hard work and dedication to making the district a great and safe community of learning. Pictured: Angela Hunsucker, Tammye Sherrill, and Christi Johnson. Not pictured: Steve Ewing and Regina Oliver. As publicly elected school leaders, Arkansas school board members set policy for their respective districts. Under state law, they are empowered to hire and evaluate the superintendent, oversee district finances, approve the budget, and determine the vision and mission of the district. School boards must also approve the curriculum and ensure the district maintains adequate facilities for teaching and learning. In addition to their board duties, state law requires Arkansas school board members to earn a minimum of six hours of professional development each year in areas related to their role and responsibilities.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.