A pair of former Razorback football players have been named to the 2021 National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame ballot. It was announced last week that Brandon Burlsworth and Dan Hampton have made the ballot. 

Twenty total Arkansas athletes have been inducted to the College Football Hall of Fame in history, most recently Darren McFadden in the class of 2019. 

Burlsworth joined the Arkansas football team in 1994 as a walk-on. After earning a starting position in 1996, Burlsworth went on to start 34 games in a row. Burlsworth was an All-SEC offensive guard in 1997.IN 1998, he earned All-Conference Honors, and was a first-team All-American.

Following his Razorback days, Burlsworth as drafted by the Indianapolis Colts in the third round of the NFL Draft, but died tragically in an vehicle accident. 

Hampton was a defensive tackle for Arkansas in 1975-78. In 1978, Hampton was an AFCA First-Team All-American, before earned SWC Defensive Player of the Year and All-SWC honors in 1978. 

The Chicago Bears drafted Hampton in the first round of 1979 NFL Draft, where he went on to play 12 seasons. 

Class of 2021 College Football Hall of Fame inductees will be announced in early 2021, before being inducted at the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 7, 2021, in New York.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.